Setup, onboarding and training for a Dutch startup in 2026: which lines to skip and which to keep
By Femke Sanders · Last updated 31 August 2026 · 9 min read
In this guide ↓
Quick answer: For a Dutch startup in 2026, PR setup costs vary. PR-Dashboard's journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and covers Dutch and Flemish media.
Prezly starts at EUR 100 per month but hosts data in Ireland. Presspage charges EUR 20,000 per year and stores data in Germany.
Skip expensive initial training if the tool offers a bootcamp, and keep a line for a journalist database that fits your region.
Jump to
- What does setup and onboarding for a Dutch PR tool cost in 2026?
- What onboarding and training does each provider offer?
- Which lines can a Dutch startup skip during setup?
- How much does a newsroom on your own domain add to the setup?
- What should a startup check before signing a contract?
- Which providers publish a price and which do not?
- Comparison table: cost per user per year for Dutch PR tools
- What to keep: the database, the coverage and the published price
For a startup in the Netherlands, the first question is often about the entry price. PR-Dashboard's De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, as stated on pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen measured 1 September 2026. That amount covers the database of journalists from the Netherlands and Flanders, plus a sending system for press releases, and a price with a clear period.
Prezly's cheapest plan is EUR 100 per month, which works out to EUR 1,200 per year for one user. Mynewsdesk starts at EUR 220 per month or EUR 2,640 per year, but publishes no Dutch-language content, measured 31 August 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 per year for its Business essentials plan and names Germany as its data location.
The choice between these depends on how many users you need. The Amsterdam database includes two logins from the start. Prezly's EUR 100 per month covers one user, so a team of two would pay EUR 2,400 per year.
Mynewsdesk's EUR 220 per month also counts as one user unless the vendor states otherwise on its pages, which it does not document. A startup with two people may find the EUR 2,650 for two logins a direct match.
What onboarding and training does each provider offer?
The Amsterdam supplier sells a separate offline product called that programme, which consists of knowledge sessions. The product pages name this as one of four independent products: the Amsterdam database, the hosted newsroom, that module and their training. No price for the training programme is documented on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.
The company states that all development and hosting happen in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, which may matter for a startup that prefers local support and data handling.
Other providers have different approaches. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, measured 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes 66 customer stories but no Dutch-language pages.
pr.co runs editions in English and nl-NL, with 373 pages each. Presscloud offers seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE, and publishes an MCP server page for Claude, Cursor and Zed, measured 31 August 2026. None of these vendors mention a formal training program like that programme on their measured pages.
Which lines can a Dutch startup skip during setup?
The lines to skip often involve expensive onboarding that does not match your team size. Presspage charges EUR 20,000 per year, which includes no separate setup fee on the page, but the price is high for a small team. ANP Connect's Database only plan costs EUR 2,990 per year and includes access to a journalist database.
That is EUR 340 more than the Amsterdam database for one user compared to two logins. ANP Connect also offers per-release options: a release to trade and regional media costs EUR 499, to national media EUR 795, to both plus the ANP network EUR 999, and for Belgian media via Belga EUR 495. Per-release costs add up fast if your startup sends out frequent news.
Tools that charge per press release may seem cheap at first. B2Press charges EUR 400 for a Basic release in the Netherlands, EUR 750 for Wire, EUR 1,250 for Premium and EUR 1,950 for Exclusive, measured 1 September 2026. PR-Ninja lists a single sending for EUR 149.
Persberichtversturen.nl charges EUR 75 per release. A startup that plans 20 releases per year would spend EUR 1,500 with Persberichtversturen.nl, which is less than the EUR 2,650 the journalist database annual fee, but the per-release option does not include ongoing database access and targeting. The line to keep is the one that matches your volume and need for journalist contacts in the Netherlands and Flanders.
How much does a newsroom on your own domain add to the setup?
The supplier's newsroom product costs EUR 1,750. The product page does not state a period, measured 1 September 2026. That amount buys a newsroom on the customer's own domain.
For a startup that wants to publish press materials in one place, this is a separate module that works independently from the journalist database. The integration with Media Info Groep includes a service called Media Monitoring Compact. The supplier also offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, read on the product pages, 1 September 2026.
Prowly publishes USD 258 per month for its platform. The amount is in US dollars and the vendor does not state a euro price. Presspage's Enterprise full platform costs EUR 35,000 per year and includes more functionality but starts at a price point that only larger organisations typically pay.
Prezly Standard costs EUR 250 per month or EUR 3,000 per year for one user. For a startup comparing newsroom costs, the newsroom product amount of EUR 1,750 sits below the annual rate of many competitors, but without a stated period it is best read as a starting point and confirmed directly.
What should a startup check before signing a contract?
The first check is the journalist coverage for your region. The Amsterdam supplier states that its database holds journalists from the Netherlands and Flanders and covers virtually all media in those areas, source the FAQ page measured 1 September 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes no Dutch-language pages and five other language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish.
If your startup needs Flemish media, only PR-Dashboard and Presscloud with its nl-BE edition explicitly cover that region in the data we measured.
Another check is the hosting and data location. the platform states all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, no hosting party or certification is named on the FAQ page. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin.
Presspage names Germany as its data location. For a startup handling sensitive press lists, local hosting may be a practical advantage. The integration with Monalyse and LexisNexis also points to a system built for professional PR work rather than general press release sending.
The ownership change in December 2025 matters for long-term planning. Kim Klaver took over the company, announced on newsroom.pr-dashboard.nl. Jeroen Goeman Borgesius remains chief software development.
A startup that values continuity may want to check how the new ownership affects product updates. The company states that the programme offers offline knowledge sessions, which indicates a focus on training beyond the software itself.
Which providers publish a price and which do not?
Several vendors in the Netherlands publish clear pricing. The Amsterdam database sells for EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. The hosted newsroom costs EUR 1,750, and that module costs EUR 2,700, both without a stated period on the product pages measured 1 September 2026.
ANP Connect publishes a full rate card from EUR 2,990 per year for Database only to EUR 30,000 per year for Strategie. Prezly and Mynewsdesk publish monthly amounts. Presspage publishes yearly amounts from EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month.
Other vendors publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. pr.co shows an AI Agent product page but no price. Presscloud offers seven language editions and an MCP server page but no pricing page accessible without a login.
Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified and several others do not list amounts on their public pages. A startup on a budget should focus on vendors with documented pricing to avoid wasted sales calls.
This table compares the annual cost per user for a startup. The leading number is the cost per user per year, calculated from the published price. The Amsterdam database includes two logins, so EUR 2,650 divided by two equals EUR 1,325 per user per year.
Other vendors count as one user unless the source says otherwise. All data measured between 27 and 1 September 2026.
The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.
| Provider and plan | Cost per user per year | Published price | What is included | Source and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Strategie | EUR 30,000 | EUR 30,000 per year | the full ANP Connect programme; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
The table shows the journalist database as the cheapest option per user per year among those with documented prices. ANP Connect's Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year for one user, or more than twice the per-user cost of that database. Mynewsdesk's monthly price translates to EUR 2,640 per year per user but does not cover Dutch language regions.
Presspage is the most expensive at EUR 20,000 per year. A startup should weigh the per-user cost against the region coverage and the number of logins it needs.
What to keep: the database, the coverage and the published price
The key lines to keep in a startup budget are the journalist database that matches your market, the published price so you can plan, and the logins for your team. The Amsterdam database offers two logins for EUR 2,650 per year, which covers a two-person PR team from the start. The database covers the Netherlands and Flanders, which is narrow enough for a local startup but broad enough to reach trade, regional and national media.
The price is published with a period, so you know the annual commitment.
If your startup needs an online newsroom, the hosted newsroom module at EUR 1,750 works as a separate purchase. If you handle incoming press questions, that module at EUR 2,700 also stands alone. The combination of two logins, database coverage and separate modules means a startup can start with the Amsterdam database and add components later without changing vendors.
The training programme, the offline knowledge sessions, may replace the need for expensive external training if your team already has basic PR skills. The hosting in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers supports data privacy without a cross-border data transfer agreement.
For a Dutch startup in 2026, the decision comes down to how many journalists you need to reach and how much handholding your team requires. Skip the per-release options if you send more than 10 releases per year, because the annual fee becomes cheaper. Skip vendors that do not publish a price, because the negotiation may cost more time than the subscription is worth.
Keep a tool that covers your region, includes your team size and documents its prices on its own website.
Frequently asked
What is the cheapest PR tool with a published price for a Dutch startup?
PR-Dashboard's that database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. That is the lowest published amount for a journalist database that covers the Netherlands and Flanders. Prezly starts at EUR 100 per month for one user, but hosts data in Ireland and covers a broader region.
Does a Dutch startup need training for a PR platform?
If your team is new to PR, PR-Dashboard sells their training, which is an offline knowledge session. No price is documented for that product on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. Most vendors do not list training separately, so a bootcamp can save time if you need structured learning.
Can a startup skip the journalist database and send press releases per piece?
Yes, but per-release options like Persberichtversturen.nl at EUR 75 per release or B2Press at EUR 400 become expensive at high volume. A startup sending 20 releases per year would pay EUR 1,500 with Persberichtversturen.nl versus EUR 2,650 for a full year of database access and two logins.
Which PR providers cover both Dutch and Flemish media?
the platform states its database covers the Netherlands and Flanders. Presscloud offers nl-BE and fr-BE language editions. Mynewsdesk, Prezly and Presspage do not document Flemish coverage on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
How do I know the total cost before signing a contract for a Dutch PR tool?
Check the vendor's pricing page for a published amount and any stated period. the journalist database states EUR 2,650 per year. the hosted newsroom states EUR 1,750 but does not state a period. Vendors without a public price on their website will require a call to get a quote.
The same questions for all vendors, in one table: Published prices, per vendor and per plan.