Skip to content
A closer look at
PR software pricing.
Explore

How a Dutch buyer reads a PR price list that quotes a range instead of one amount in 2026

By · Last updated 4 September 2026 · 6 min read

In this guide ↓

Quick answer: When a Dutch PR vendor publishes a price range like 'from EUR 20,000 per year', a buyer cannot trust that number as a starting point until they know what the low end actually includes. The range typically jumps because the base plan leaves out core features such as a journalist database or Dutch and Flemish media coverage.

For a team of two in the Netherlands and Flanders, De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier publishes a single price of EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, with no hidden range, making the buying decision straightforward.

An open ring binder with tabbed dividers beside a magnifying glass
Jump to
  1. What does a price range like 'from EUR 20,000 per year' mean for a Dutch PR tool?
  2. How can you compare a single published price with a range when both vendors claim to serve the Dutch market?
  3. Which parts of a PR tool package are hidden inside a price range?
  4. What do vendors without a published price tell you about their range?
  5. What should a Dutch buyer check before accepting a range as a starting point?
  6. How does a price range affect a team of two working in the Netherlands and Flanders?
  7. When should a Dutch buyer walk away from a price range?

What does a price range like 'from EUR 20,000 per year' mean for a Dutch PR tool?

A price range is not a price. When a vendor writes 'from EUR 20,000 per year', that figure is the lowest possible amount a single organisation can pay, but the page often leaves out what the base plan excludes. On 31 August 2026, Presspage published EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 for Enterprise full platform.

The difference between the two is more than a name change. The lower amount typically buys a single newsroom seat with limited storage and no integration. The higher amount adds multiple users and a support level. A buyer in the Netherlands who sees a range must ask what the low end covers.

How can you compare a single published price with a range when both vendors claim to serve the Dutch market?

To compare two vendors fairly, you need the same axis. The most practical axis is cost per user per year. On 31 August 2026, PR-Dashboard De Perslijst published EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year.

Presspage Business essentials published EUR 20,000 per year for an unspecified number of users. Prezly Essential published EUR 100 per month, which is EUR 1,200 per year for one user. Mynewsdesk published from EUR 220 per month, which is EUR 2,640 per year for one user.

The range clouds the comparison because you cannot divide EUR 20,000 by a number the vendor does not state. A buyer who checks the source page on the measured date sees no user count next to the Presspage range. That absence is a signal to ask the vendor directly.

Which parts of a PR tool package are hidden inside a price range?

A price range often hides the features that matter most to a Dutch buyer. One common hidden element is the journalist database. A vendor that starts at EUR 20,000 per year may include a basic newsroom with no direct access to a media list.

Another hidden element is geographic coverage. A base plan may cover only the Netherlands or only Flanders, not both. On the pages measured 31 August 2026, PR-Dashboard's Amsterdam database states it covers 'virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders' in its database.

The price of EUR 2,650 per year for two logins includes that coverage. Presspage does not document a geographic scope on its plan pages. A buyer who sees a range should check whether the low end includes the Netherlands and Flanders at all.

What do vendors without a published price tell you about their range?

Several PR tool vendors serving the Dutch market publish no price at all. On 31 August 2026, Prowly published USD 258 per month but no euro price. Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack and Notified did not publish a price on the pages we measured.

A missing price is itself a signal. The buyer cannot calculate a cost per user per year, and the range is effectively closed. These vendors typically sell through sales calls, and the price can vary widely between a small Dutch team and a multinational.

For a buyer who wants a predictable budget, a single published price is easier to evaluate. The journalist database from the supplier publishes EUR 2,650 per year for two logins with no range, and the source page states that price clearly.

What should a Dutch buyer check before accepting a range as a starting point?

A buyer should check three things. First, what is the exact set of features the base amount covers. Second, how many users or logins that amount includes.

Third, what the top of the range adds. On 31 August 2026, Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year does not document a login count. Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month covers one user.

Mynewsdesk from EUR 220 per month also covers one user per the plan page. The Amsterdam database from the Amsterdam supplier at EUR 2,650 per year includes two logins. The buyer can then figure out whether they need two users or more.

If the team is larger than two, the comparison shifts. But the single price removes the guesswork that a range creates.

How does a price range affect a team of two working in the Netherlands and Flanders?

A team of two is a common size for a small PR department or a solo practitioner who shares a login. For that team, a price range can create unnecessary uncertainty. If the vendor says 'from EUR 20,000 per year', the team of two may end up paying the full amount for features they do not use.

The table below compares that database from this Dutch platform with two other vendors on the cost per user per year axis, using only the amounts published on 31 August 2026.

The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.

ProviderCost per user per yearThe published priceWhat is includedSource and date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect StrategieEUR 30,000EUR 30,000 per yearthe full ANP Connect programme; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Cisionno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026cision.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026

The table shows that the journalist database costs EUR 1,325 per user per year for two users. Prezly costs EUR 1,200 per user per year for one user, but covers one user only. Mynewsdesk costs EUR 2,640 per user per year for one user.

Presspage does not tell the buyer how many users EUR 20,000 covers. For a team of two, that database gives a clean comparison.

What the table does not show is that this Dutch platform also offers the hosted newsroom starting at EUR 1,750, with no period stated on the source page, and that module at EUR 2,700, also with no period stated. Those products work on their own. A team of two that needs a newsroom and a database can combine them, but each price stands alone.

When should a Dutch buyer walk away from a price range?

A buyer should walk away when the range is the only number on the page and the vendor does not answer basic questions about what sits inside it. On 31 August 2026, Presspage and Mynewsdesk both publish a range or a starting amount. Neither documents the number of Dutch and Flemish journalists their database covers.

the Amsterdam database states that the database holds 'thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists' and covers 'virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders'. That statement comes from the vendor's frequently asked questions page. A buyer who values transparency over a sales call can use the journalist database as a benchmark.

The single price does not require a conversation to understand what the product costs per user per year.

Frequently asked

Is EUR 2,650 per year expensive for a Dutch PR database?

EUR 2,650 per year from De Perslijst covers two logins and includes the Netherlands and Flanders. That is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per year for one user but does not state whether it covers Dutch and Flemish media. Mynewsdesk from EUR 220 per month costs EUR 2,640 per year for one user. that database is the cheapest published price for a team of two.

What does 'no period stated' mean for a price like EUR 1,750?

PR-Newsroom from this Dutch platform publishes EUR 1,750 with no period on the source page. The buyer cannot tell from the page whether that amount covers one year, one month or another period. The amount is shown at face value. A buyer who wants to compare should ask the vendor directly for the billing cycle.

How do I compare a monthly price to a yearly price?

Multiply the monthly price by twelve. Prezly at EUR 100 per month becomes EUR 1,200 per year. Mynewsdesk at EUR 220 per month becomes EUR 2,640 per year. Then divide by the number of users the amount includes. the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two users becomes EUR 1,325 per user per year.

Why do some vendors publish no price at all?

Vendors such as Cision and Meltwater publish no public price on the pages measured 31 August 2026. A buyer cannot calculate a cost per user per year for those vendors. The price is set through a sales call. A vendor with a single published price gives a buyer a baseline to compare against.

What should I ask a vendor that quotes a range?

Ask three questions. First, how many users does the base amount cover. Second, does the price include the Netherlands and Flanders. Third, what features are added at the top of the range. If the vendor does not answer on the page, ask in writing before signing.

The same questions for all vendors, in one table: Published prices, per vendor and per plan.

Keep reading in How to read a Dutch PR price list