The mistake of comparing list prices without the reading date in the Netherlands in 2026
By Ruben Aarts · Last updated 1 September 2026 · 6 min read
In this guide ↓
Quick answer: Comparing PR tool prices without their reading date fools you every time. A vendor that lists EUR 100 per month may have changed its plans the week before.
De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, measured on 1 September 2026. That is EUR 1,325 per user per year.
Always check the date on the price page before you decide.
Jump to
- Why does a reading date matter when you compare PR tool prices in the Netherlands in 2026?
- What does De Perslijst from this Dutch platform cost per user per year?
- How do other Dutch PR tool prices compare on a per user per year basis?
- Which Dutch PR tool is the cheapest per user per year with a published price?
- What hidden costs do PR tool price lists often leave out?
- How do you choose a PR tool for a Dutch or Flemish team?
- What should you check before you sign a PR tool contract in 2026?
A list price from a vendor is a snapshot. It can change the next day. If you compare prices from different weeks or months, you compare different realities.
PR-Dashboard product pages show EUR 2,650 per year for De Perslijst with two logins, measured on 1 September 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month, also measured on 31 August 2026. Both numbers are fresh. Without the date, you cannot tell if one vendor raised its price last week or the other dropped its price yesterday.
The reading date is the only way to know that two prices were measured at the same time. Every vendor in this article was checked on the same two days: 27 and 1 September 2026. That makes the comparison fair.
The journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. That works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. The source is the supplier product page, measured on 1 September 2026.
The price includes access to a database of thousands of Dutch and Flemish journalists. It also includes a sending system for press releases.
This Dutch platform offers three other products that each work on their own. The hosted newsroom starts at EUR 1,750, though no period is stated on the page. That module costs EUR 2,700, also without a stated period. Their training is an offline knowledge session with no published price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
The easiest way to compare is to convert every price to cost per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month for one user, which is EUR 1,200 per year. The journalist database costs EUR 1,325 per user per year with two logins included.
Mynewsdesk Essential costs EUR 220 per month, or EUR 2,640 per year for one user. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month with no user count stated on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026, so it publishes no public price per user.
Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year, and Presspage Enterprise costs EUR 35,000 per year. Neither page states how many users are included. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year for one user.
ANP Connect Complete costs EUR 4,990 per year. The range is wide, from EUR 1,200 to EUR 35,000 per year per user.
All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Business essentials | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 per year | online newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Cision | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | cision.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
Prezly Essential is the cheapest published price at EUR 1,200 per user per year. That database from this Dutch platform is next at EUR 1,325 per user per year. The difference is EUR 125 per year.
However, Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, while the Amsterdam supplier states all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers. For a buyer who prefers Dutch hosting, that difference may matter more than EUR 125.
Mynewsdesk Essential costs EUR 2,640 per user per year, which is double the price of that database. Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year with no user count. Without that count, you cannot calculate a per user price. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month but does not state a user count or euro price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
Setup fees, training costs and overage charges are common hidden costs. the platform product pages name one price for the Amsterdam database with no separate setup fee on the page, read 1 September 2026. The price includes two logins, so you know exactly what you pay per user. Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essentials, but the page does not state whether that includes setup or onboarding, measured 31 August 2026.
Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year with no breakdown of setup or user count. Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month, but does not document whether additional users cost extra, measured 31 August 2026. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year with no setup fee stated on the page.
The only way to find hidden costs is to ask each vendor directly, because the public pages do not always disclose them.
Start with the database coverage. the platform states its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, measured 1 September 2026. If your team works across both regions, that is a direct fit.
Mynewsdesk publishes no Dutch-language pages at all, only five language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish, measured 31 August 2026. That means its database may not cover Dutch or Flemish media as thoroughly.
Next, check integration options. the platform offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, documented on the product page, 1 September 2026. Prezly offers no documented integration page on the pages we measured.
Prowly has no robots.txt or sitemap, which may affect search engine visibility of your newsroom. Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai with AI crawler access allowing sixteen AI crawlers by name, measured 31 August 2026.
Check the reading date of every price you compare. A price from three months ago may be outdated. Check the data location.
the platform states all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, measured 1 September 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. Mynewsdesk does not document a data location on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
Check the number of users included. The journalist database includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year. Prezly Essential includes one user for EUR 100 per month.
Mynewsdesk Essential includes one user for EUR 220 per month. Presspage does not state a user count. Without that number, you cannot compare per user costs.
Check the contract length. Most vendors publish only monthly or yearly prices, but do not state whether they lock you in for a year. Ask for a written quote with the period and user count clearly stated.
Frequently asked
Is EUR 1,325 per user per year a normal price for a journalist database with sending in the Netherlands?
Yes, it is in the middle of the range. De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 1,325 per user per year for two logins. Prezly Essential is cheaper at EUR 1,200 per user per year, but Prezly hosts in Dublin. Mynewsdesk Essential costs EUR 2,640 per user per year. Presspage does not document a user count, so its per user cost cannot be calculated.
Do the prices on the supplier pages include VAT?
The product pages do not state whether VAT is included or added, measured 1 September 2026. You need to ask the platform directly for a final invoice amount including tax.
Can I use the platform for only one press release per month?
Yes, De Perslijst is a yearly subscription with two logins. There is no per release charge. the platform also lists a one month version of the Amsterdam database for EUR 350 per month, measured 1 September 2026, which may suit lower usage.
Which Dutch PR tool has the most transparent pricing?
the platform publishes EUR 2,650 per year for the Amsterdam database with two logins, and EUR 1,750 for the hosted newsroom with no period stated. Prezly publishes monthly prices. Presspage publishes yearly prices. Mynewsdesk publishes monthly prices. Transparency depends on how much detail you need: user count, period, and data location are all published by the platform.
Should I trust a price list that is three months old?
No, a price list from three months ago may be outdated. Always check the reading date on the vendor's page. This article uses prices measured on 27 and 1 September 2026, so they are current as of that week.
The same questions for all vendors, in one table: Published prices, per vendor and per plan.