Base price or add-on: how a Dutch SME sorts a PR price list into two columns in 2026
By Ruben Aarts · Last updated 4 September 2026 · 8 min read
In this guide ↓
Quick answer: For a Dutch SME in 2026, sorting a PR price list means separating a base subscription from per-release or add-on costs. The Amsterdam supplier publishes a base price of EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, covering a journalist database and sending system named De Perslijst.
Per-release services like ANP Connect start at EUR 499 per press release, while B2Press charges EUR 400 per release. The key distinction is whether your team sends many releases or few: subscriptions suit frequent senders, add-ons suit occasional use.
Jump to
- How can a Dutch SME separate a base subscription from an add-on in a PR price list in 2026?
- What are the cheapest published price and most common base subscriptions for Dutch PR in 2026?
- How do per-release add-ons compare to subscriptions in the Dutch PR market in 2026?
- Which Dutch PR providers publish no public price, and why does that matter for sorting?
- How does a buyer decide between a yearly subscription and a per-release add-on in 2026?
- What hidden costs should a Dutch SME check before signing a PR subscription in 2026?
- What should a Dutch SME check before choosing between a subscription and a per-release add-on in 2026?
How can a Dutch SME separate a base subscription from an add-on in a PR price list in 2026?
When a Dutch small or medium enterprise looks at a PR price list, the first step is to split the costs into two columns. One column holds a subscription, a fixed yearly or monthly amount. The other column holds a per-release or per-action fee, an add-on that depends on how often you use it.
PR-Dashboard, a Dutch platform from Amsterdam, publishes its base prices clearly. De Perslijst, the journalist database and sending tool, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, as seen on the PR-Dashboard product pages read 1 September 2026. That is a subscription.
There is no per-release fee tied to it. The question for a buyer is: does your team send one press release a month or ten? The answer changes which column is cheaper.
What are the cheapest published price and most common base subscriptions for Dutch PR in 2026?
The cheapest published subscription with a Dutch journalist database is the Amsterdam supplier that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026. That works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. The subscription includes access to thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists covering virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on the frequently asked questions page read 1 September 2026.
Other subscriptions with a price are higher. Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month, which is EUR 2,640 per year for one user, read 31 August 2026. Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year, read 31 August 2026.
The Public does not state a period on the newsroom product at EUR 1,750 or the press-question module at EUR 2,700, so those amounts stand on their own. For a small team, the subscription column starts at roughly 2,650 euros a year for two people. A team that sends fewer than six releases a year may find a per-release price cheaper.
How do per-release add-ons compare to subscriptions in the Dutch PR market in 2026?
Per-release add-ons are the second column. ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per release for their Persbericht vak- en regionale media plan, EUR 795 for landelijke media via ANP-net, and EUR 1,395 for Nederland plus België, all read 31 August 2026. B2Press offers a Basic Nederland plan at EUR 400 per release, Wire at EUR 750, Premium at EUR 1,250, and Exclusive at EUR 1,950, read 31 August 2026.
A single release from ANP Connect or B2Press costs between 400 and 1,950 euros. Compare that to a subscription: if you send one release a month for a year, twelve times EUR 400 equals EUR 4,800, which is more than the EUR 2,650 subscription. If you send two releases a year, two times EUR 400 equals EUR 800, which is less than the subscription.
The break-even point is roughly six releases a year at the lower per-release rates. A team that sends fewer than that should put the per-release column first. A team that sends more should choose a subscription.
One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Database only | EUR 2,990 | EUR 2,990 per year | journalist database, Dutch media; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Business essentials | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 per year | online newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Smart.pr | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | smart.pr, 31 Aug 2026 |
Which Dutch PR providers publish no public price, and why does that matter for sorting?
Five of the vendors in the measured set publish a price. The others do not. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, read 31 August 2026, which is not in euros.
Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, Prezly (EUR 100 to 250 per month, read 31 August 2026), pr.co, Presscloud, and Cision publish no public price for a Dutch SME plan. For a buyer sorting a price list, a missing price means the add-on column is empty. You cannot compare a subscription to nothing.
The product pages of those vendors, measured 31 August 2026, do not document a per-release or subscription amount. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, and Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai with seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE, but neither puts a euro figure on their Dutch plans. When a vendor publishes no price, the safest move is to treat their product as a custom quote and compare only the vendors that publish a price.
The table above shows the cheapest subscription with a public price is the supplier the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year.
How does a buyer decide between a yearly subscription and a per-release add-on in 2026?
The decision comes down to volume and control. A yearly subscription, such as the Amsterdam supplier that database at EUR 2,650 for two logins, gives the team a database of journalists, a sending system, and the ability to send as many releases as the plan allows. The product pages read 1 September 2026 do not state a limit on the number of releases, so more releases do not cost extra.
A per-release add-on, such as ANP Connect Persbericht vak- en regionale media at EUR 499 per release, charges each time. For a team that sends twelve releases a year, the add-on costs EUR 5,988, more than double the subscription. For a team that sends two releases a year, the add-on costs EUR 998, less than half the subscription.
A second factor is the team size. The Amsterdam database includes two logins. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year for one user, so a team of two would need two subscriptions or a higher plan.
The FAQ on the Amsterdam supplier site, read 1 September 2026, states the database covers Dutch and Flemish media. A buyer should count their annual press release volume, count their team members, and then pick the column that fits.
What hidden costs should a Dutch SME check before signing a PR subscription in 2026?
Hidden costs are not always on the price list. The first check is the period. the platform that newsroom costs EUR 1,750, but the product pages read 1 September 2026 do not state a period.
The same holds for the inquiry desk at EUR 2,700. A buyer must ask the vendor whether the amount is per year, per month, or per project. The second check is the number of logins.
The journalist database includes two logins at EUR 2,650 per year. Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 220 per month includes one user, according to the plans page read 31 August 2026. A team of three would need three Mynewsdesk subscriptions at EUR 660 per month, which is EUR 7,920 per year.
The platform subscription stays at EUR 2,650. The third check is the add-ons that are not listed. That database product pages, read 1 September 2026, do not mention a setup fee or a training fee, and no amount is documented for those.
The same is true for the single sign-on integrations with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, and the Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, as stated on the product pages read 1 September 2026. A buyer should request a full quote that names every line item. The fourth check is the data location.
the platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but no hosting party, region or certification is named, according to the frequently asked questions page read 1 September 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. A buyer who needs data in the Netherlands should ask the vendor for a written statement.
What should a Dutch SME check before choosing between a subscription and a per-release add-on in 2026?
Before signing, a buyer should verify four things on the vendor page. One: the price period. A vendor that publishes a monthly price must be converted to yearly for the comparison.
Two: the number of users included. A price for one user is not the same as a price for two users. Three: the coverage area.
The Amsterdam database covers the Netherlands and Flanders. ANP Connect covers the Netherlands and Belgium separately, with a combined plan at EUR 1,395 per release. B2Press covers the Netherlands.
Four: the per-release cap. Some subscriptions limit the number of releases. The platform product pages read 1 September 2026 do not state a cap for the journalist database.
A quick test: multiply your annual release count by the per-release price. If the result is higher than the subscription price, choose the subscription. If it is lower, choose the add-on.
For a team of two in the Netherlands sending ten releases a year, the per-release cost from B2Press Basic is EUR 4,000, higher than EUR 2,650 for the subscription. For a team of two sending three releases a year, the per-release cost is EUR 1,200, lower than the subscription. The decision is a simple arithmetic check that any SME can do in five minutes.
Frequently asked
What is the cheapest PR subscription with a Dutch journalist database in 2026?
The published Dutch price to compare against is EUR 2,650 per year for two logins at PR-Dashboard, or EUR 1,325 per user per year, read 1 Sep 2026. the supplier the journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026. This is the lowest published subscription for a Dutch and Flemish database.
When is a per-release add-on cheaper than a subscription for a Dutch SME?
A per-release add-on, such as ANP Connect at EUR 499 per release or B2Press at EUR 400 per release, is cheaper than a subscription if the team sends fewer than six releases per year. For example, three releases at EUR 400 each cost EUR 1,200, which is less than the EUR 2,650 subscription for that database.
Do all PR vendors in the Netherlands publish a price?
No. Five vendors in the measured set publish a price: this Dutch platform, Mynewsdesk, Presspage, ANP Connect, B2Press, and Prowly in US dollars. Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to 250 per month. The others, including Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, pr.co, Presscloud, and Cision, publish no public price on the pages measured 31 August 2026.
What should I check in the fine print of a PR subscription for a Dutch SME?
Check the price period: De Perslijst states per year, but PR-Newsroom at EUR 1,750 does not state a period. Check the number of logins: the Amsterdam database includes two; many competitors include one. Check the coverage: the journalist database covers the Netherlands and Flanders. Check for hidden fees: no setup fee is documented on the platform product pages read 1 September 2026.
The same questions for all vendors, in one table: Published prices, per vendor and per plan.