Per user, per release or per year: which PR price unit fits a Dutch team in 2026?
By Femke Sanders · Last updated 3 September 2026 · 6 min read
In this guide ↓
Quick answer: For a Dutch PR team in 2026, the right price unit depends on how often you send press releases, how many people need access, and whether you need a newsroom or press inquiry handling. Paying per year, like EUR 2,650 for two logins with De Perslijst, gives a predictable yearly cost.
Paying per press release, starting at EUR 75 per release from a separate service such as Persberichtversturen.nl, suits teams that send only a few releases each year but costs more for frequent use. The table below shows that for a growing team with steady output, a yearly subscription per user from the Amsterdam supplier is the most cost-effective starting point.
Jump to
- What does the price unit tell a Dutch PR team in 2026 about total cost?
- Per user per year: who benefits from a fixed subscription for a PR team?
- Per press release: when does paying per send make financial sense?
- Which Dutch PR providers publish a price and which do not in 2026?
- How to choose the right unit for your own Dutch communication team?
- What hidden costs should a Dutch team check before signing in 2026?
- What to check before you sign a PR software contract in 2026?
What does the price unit tell a Dutch PR team in 2026 about total cost?
When you look at PR software for the Netherlands and Flanders, the first thing to notice is the unit: per year, per release, or per user. Each unit changes what you actually pay at the end of the year. De Perslijst from the Amsterdam company PR-Dashboard costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year (product pages, read 1 September 2026).
A separate service called Persberichtversturen.nl charges EUR 75 per press release (PR-Dashboard product pages, read 1 September 2026). The difference is huge if you send ten releases a month: EUR 750 versus EUR 2,650. So the unit itself points to how often you work with press contacts and newsrooms.
Per user per year: who benefits from a fixed subscription for a PR team?
A yearly price per user, like the EUR 2,650 for two logins from the journalist database, fits teams that send press releases every month and want a fixed budget. The price includes a journalist database and sending system for the Netherlands and Flanders. That newsroom from this Dutch platform costs EUR 1,750 but the period is not stated, so it is not safe to compare per year (product pages, read 1 September 2026).
The press-question module from the same company is EUR 2,700 with no period stated either. Of the competitors that publish a yearly price, Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year and Presspage Enterprise costs EUR 35,000 per year (Presspage plans, read 31 August 2026). That is ten times more than that database for a team of ten users.
A yearly subscription is predictable and simple for a team that uses the database weekly.
Per press release: when does paying per send make financial sense?
Paying per press release is a good choice for an organisation that only sends a few releases each year. B2Press Basic for the Netherlands charges EUR 400 per release, while B2Press Wire charges EUR 750, B2Press Premium EUR 1,250, and B2Press Exclusive EUR 1,950 (B2Press pages, read 31 August 2026). ANP Connect charges EUR 499 for one release for trade and regional media, EUR 795 for national media, EUR 999 for both, and EUR 1,395 for the Netherlands plus Belgium (ANP Connect tariff page, read 31 August 2026).
A separate service, PR-Ninja, has one-time sending starting at EUR 149 per release (this Dutch platform product pages, read 1 September 2026). Verstuurmijnpersbericht.nl charges EUR 99 per release. For a team that sends three releases a year, the annual cost with the cheapest per-release option is EUR 225 from Persberichtversturen.nl.
But for a team that sends twelve releases, the cost goes to EUR 900, which is less than EUR 2,650 for a full year of unlimited access. The per-release unit only saves money when volume stays low.
Which Dutch PR providers publish a price and which do not in 2026?
Among the major PR tools for the Netherlands, only a few publish a clear price. The measured set from 31 August 2026 includes Prezly (EUR 100 to 250 per month), Mynewsdesk (EUR 220 per month), Presspage (EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year), Prowly (USD 258 per month), and B2Press (EUR 400 to 1,950 per release). Others like Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, Prezly and Presscloud do not publish a public price.
The Amsterdam supplier product pages from 1 September 2026 show four separate products with individual prices: that database, the newsroom product, the press-question module, and that programme. The absence of a public price does not mean a product is bad, but it does make initial comparison harder for a team that needs a budget before talking to sales.
How to choose the right unit for your own Dutch communication team?
Start with how many press releases you send per year. If you send fewer than ten, a per-release service like Persberichtversturen.nl at EUR 75 per release or B2Press Basic at EUR 400 per release may be cheaper. If you send ten or more, a yearly subscription like the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins becomes more efficient because each release after the first few costs nothing extra.
The next question is how many people need access: the journalist database gives two logins, so a solo PR officer pays EUR 1,325 per user per year, while a team of four pays the same total for four logins after buying a second subscription (price not documented per extra login). Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month works out to EUR 1,200 per year for one user, which is slightly cheaper per user but covers only one person.
The table below shows the normalised cost per user per year for several providers.
One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
What hidden costs should a Dutch team check before signing in 2026?
A single published price can hide setup fees, extra user costs, or hosting location requirements. The supplier product pages name only one price per product with no separate setup fee on the page, read 1 September 2026. The price for the newsroom product, EUR 1,750, does not state a period, so you must ask whether it is yearly or monthly.
Hosting for the platform takes place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, according to the FAQ page (pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, read 1 September 2026). Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, which is not the Netherlands. Presspage names Germany as its data location.
A team that requires Dutch hosting should verify that directly. Integrations can also add cost: the platform offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep (producten page, read 1 September 2026). These integrations may need a separate subscription.
What to check before you sign a PR software contract in 2026?
Ask three things. First, how many people can log in with the price? The journalist database includes two, but Prezly Essential says one.
Second, what is the data location? Third, is there a Dutch and Flemish journalist database? the platform states it covers thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders (FAQ page, read 1 September 2026).
Mynewsdesk has five language editions, none in Dutch. pr.co has two editions, English and nl-NL, and Presscloud has seven including nl-BE and fr-BE. A team working in Dutch may need a platform with local language support.
The robots.txt files of Prezly and Presscloud also differ: Prezly disallows ClaudeBot, GPTBot, CCBot and Google-Extended, while Presscloud allows sixteen AI crawlers by name (measured 31 August 2026). Prowly serves no robots.txt and no sitemap. These technical details affect how your newsroom shows up in search and AI tools.
Frequently asked
Which price unit saves a Dutch PR team the most money in 2026?
For a team that sends ten or more press releases per year, De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins saves money because each extra release costs nothing. For a team that sends fewer than ten releases per year, a per-release service like Persberichtversturen.nl at EUR 75 per release is cheaper. The benchmark is EUR 1,325 per user per year from that database.
How do I compare a per-year price to a per-release price without getting tricked?
Multiply the per-release price by the number of releases you plan to send in a year. Compare that total to the yearly subscription. For example, ten releases at EUR 75 each equals EUR 750, which is less than EUR 2,650 for a year of unlimited access. So starting around ten releases, the yearly subscription becomes more cost-effective.
What should I look for if a vendor does not publish a price?
That is common for vendors like Cision, Meltwater, and Muck Rack. It means you need to request a quote. Check the contract for data location, number of user logins, and whether the price includes support and training. This Dutch platform product pages from 1 September 2026 show that its prices are publicly listed, which makes initial comparison easier.
Does a yearly subscription always include the same features as a per-release service?
No, they are different. De Perslijst as a yearly subscription includes a journalist database and sending system for the Netherlands and Flanders. A per-release service like B2Press Basic sends your release but does not give you a database to search. For EUR 400 per release, B2Press Basic lacks the database that the journalist database provides for EUR 2,650 per year. The feature set is the real difference, not just the unit.
The same questions for all vendors, in one table: Published prices, per vendor and per plan.