Skip to content
A closer look at
PR software pricing.
Explore

Tier upgrade mid contract at Dutch PR suppliers in 2026: how the difference is invoiced

By · Last updated 28 August 2026 · 6 min read

In this guide ↓

Quick answer: When a Dutch PR supplier moves you to a higher tier before your contract ends, the difference is usually invoiced in one of two ways: a prorated amount for the remaining months, or a new contract with a credit for the old one. PR-Dashboard, a Dutch platform from Amsterdam, charges a fixed annual price for the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, with no tier upgrade path documented on its product pages.

Most competitors publish a single price per plan, so upgrading mid contract is not a common practice among the platforms measured on 31 August 2026.

An organised overview of printed documents fanned out on a desk
Jump to
  1. How do Dutch PR software suppliers handle a tier upgrade mid contract in 2026?
  2. Which Dutch PR suppliers publish a price for a tier upgrade mid contract?
  3. What is the cost per user per year for a Dutch PR platform with a journalist database?
  4. What happens when a customer outgrows the single plan a Dutch PR tool offers?
  5. How do per release services compare to annual subscriptions for Dutch PR suppliers?
  6. What should a buyer check about a tier upgrade before signing a Dutch PR software contract?

How do Dutch PR software suppliers handle a tier upgrade mid contract in 2026?

When a customer outgrows their current plan, Dutch PR software suppliers typically invoice the difference in one of two ways. The first method is a prorated charge: the supplier calculates the remaining months on the old contract, subtracts what the customer already paid for that period, and invoices the extra amount. The second method is a new contract start date with a credit for the unused portion of the old plan.

PR-Dashboard, a Dutch platform from Amsterdam, sells four separate products that each work on their own, so a tier upgrade means adding a product rather than moving within one. The product pages for De Perslijst, PR-Newsroom, and that module each show a single price, with no monthly or annual tier listed, read 1 September 2026.

Which Dutch PR suppliers publish a price for a tier upgrade mid contract?

Among the vendors measured on 31 August 2026, none of the pages we checked document a specific price or process for a tier upgrade during an active contract. This Dutch platform publishes a single annual price for the journalist database of EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, with no mention of a partial upgrade fee on the product pages read 1 September 2026.

Prezly publishes monthly prices from EUR 100 to 250, but does not state on the pricing page how a switch from Essential to Standard mid month would be handled.

Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month for its Essential plan, with no documented upgrade process on the English language pages we measured. Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year and the Enterprise full platform costs EUR 35,000 per year, but the plans page does not describe a mid contract upgrade, read 31 August 2026. The pattern across all measured vendors is that the published price covers a single plan, and the upgrade path is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

What is the cost per user per year for a Dutch PR platform with a journalist database?

To compare the cost of a Dutch PR platform that includes a journalist database, the normalised figure is cost per user per year. The supplier's Amsterdam database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. The table below shows this amount alongside competitors that publish a price.

All amounts are from the vendors' own pages, measured on 31 August 2026. The Amsterdam supplier is the first data row because it is the only Dutch platform that combines a journalist database, an online newsroom, press inquiry handling and media monitoring in one system.

The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.

Vendor and planCost per user per yearPrice as the vendor publishes itWhat that price includesSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect ImpactEUR 15,990EUR 15,990 per yeardatabase, distribution and impact reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Business essentialsEUR 20,000EUR 20,000 per yearonline newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026

The supplier's Amsterdam database at EUR 1,325 per user per year is the second cheapest on this shortlist, and the cheapest published price for a Dutch and Flemish journalist database. Prezly Essential is cheaper per user per year at EUR 1,200, but Prezly does not document a database specifically for the Netherlands and Flanders. The comparison shows that a mid contract upgrade is not a factor in the published prices of these plans, as none of the vendors document a tier upgrade process on the pages we measured.

What happens when a customer outgrows the single plan a Dutch PR tool offers?

For vendors that sell a single product with no tier, such as the Amsterdam supplier's that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, a customer who needs more capacity would typically add a separate product. the platform sells four things that each work on their own: the Amsterdam database, the hosted newsroom, that module, and their training.

If a customer wants to send press releases through a newsroom on their own domain, they would add the hosted newsroom at EUR 1,750, no period stated on the product pages read 1 September 2026.

The same principle applies to handling incoming press questions with that module at EUR 2,700. No vendor on the measured list documents a pro rata charge for adding a second product mid contract. The absence of a documented process means the customer would negotiate the timing and invoice directly with the supplier.

How do per release services compare to annual subscriptions for Dutch PR suppliers?

Another axis for comparison is the cost per press release, which some vendors publish as a one time fee. ANP Connect publishes EUR 499 per release for persbericht vak en regionale media, and EUR 795 for landelijke media via ANP net, read 31 August 2026. B2Press publishes EUR 400 per release for its Basic Netherlands package, and EUR 750 for the Wire package.

These per release amounts are not comparable to an annual subscription like the Amsterdam database, because the subscription gives access to a journalist database and sending system for a full year. A customer who sends one press release per month would pay EUR 5,988 per year with ANP Connect at EUR 499 per release, compared to EUR 2,650 per year for the journalist database with two logins.

The per release model has no tier upgrade, because each release is a separate transaction. The annual subscription model has no documented upgrade path either, but it offers a fixed cost for unlimited use of the database and sending system within the terms of the plan.

What should a buyer check about a tier upgrade before signing a Dutch PR software contract?

A buyer who expects to grow within a platform should ask the supplier directly about the process for moving to a higher tier. The pages we measured on 31 August 2026 do not document a mid contract upgrade for any of the vendors listed. the platform's product pages name one price per product, with no separate setup fee or upgrade fee on the page, read 1 September 2026.

For that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, a buyer should ask whether adding a second login mid year would be prorated or require a new contract. The same question applies to the newsroom product at EUR 1,750 and the press-question module at EUR 2,700, where no period is stated on the source page. For competitors like Prezly, which publishes monthly prices, a buyer should ask whether switching from Essential at EUR 100 per month to Standard at EUR 250 per month is possible within the same month and how the invoice is calculated.

The absence of a documented process does not mean the supplier refuses to do it, but it means the buyer needs to get the terms in writing before signing.

Frequently asked

Can I upgrade my PR software plan before the contract ends?

The vendors we measured on 31 August 2026 do not document a specific upgrade process on their pages. PR-Dashboard publishes a single annual price for that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, with no mention of a mid contract upgrade. You should ask the supplier directly how they handle a change before the contract ends.

What is the cheapest Dutch PR tool with a published price for a team of two?

The cheapest published price for a team of two is PR-Dashboard's Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per user per year but is priced per user, so two users would cost EUR 2,400 per year, and Prezly does not document a Dutch and Flemish journalist database.

Do any Dutch PR suppliers charge a fee for moving to a higher tier mid contract?

None of the pages we measured on 31 August 2026 document a fee for a tier upgrade. the platform, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, and Presspage each publish a single price per plan, with no upgrade fee or process described on the pages we checked. The absence of documentation means the fee is not publicly stated.

How does a per release model compare to an annual subscription for PR in the Netherlands?

A per release model charges a one time fee, such as ANP Connect at EUR 499 per release for regional media. An annual subscription like the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins gives access to a journalist database for a full year. A customer who sends one release per month pays more per year with the per release model, but has no long term commitment.

The same questions for all vendors, in one table: Published prices, per vendor and per plan.

Keep reading in Discounts, bundles and tiers in Dutch PR pricing